Academic writing for PhD students (12 week course) - ELT6051 (For non-native speakers of English)

Code: ELT6051, Offered By: Research Study Skills

New

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS COURSE IS DESIGNED FOR NON-NATIVE SPEAKERS OF ENGLISH.

This course is aimed at students who are beginning to write their doctoral thesis, but is open to doctoral students at any stage.  

The course provides an overview of grammar and the basic skills needed to produce written work of an acceptable standard in the form of research reports, literature reviews, confirmation reviews and theses.  Key aspects include: structure of academic texts – from research papers to theses; word order and linking ideas – voice, prioritisation of information, coordination and subordination; punctuation; tense – use and combination; paraphrasing and summarising; and styles of reporting and referencing.

The course runs for 12 weeks and consists of 9 weeks x 2hr taught sessions and 3 weeks x 2hrs of individual tutorials (6 hours divided amongst the students).

Submission of written work is required. Assignments can be based on provided materials or excerpts from the student’s own writing.

The final three sessions are divided into individual tutorials. Students should submit their written work in advance of the tutorial sessions. Your work will be assessed and commented on by the tutor and returned to you. In the final individual tutorial, the comments will be discussed and advice given about improvements to the writing and further study.

Successful completion of the course will require regular attendance, submission of written work and attendance at the final tutorial. 

You should sign up to either Monday OR Tuesday classes.

Monday's class dates

Venue: Dainton Building, Room D17a

Monday 12th February, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 19th February, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 26th February, 10:00 - 12:00pm

Monday 5th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 12th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 19th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 16th April, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 23rd April, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 30th April, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 14th May, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 21st May, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Monday 4th June, 10:00am - 12:00pm


Tuesday's class dates

Venue: Dainton Building, Room D17h

Tuesday 13th February, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 20th February, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 27th February, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 6th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 13th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 20th March, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 17th April, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 24th April, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 1st May, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 8th May, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 15th May, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tuesday 22nd May, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Other Information

Staff Contact

James Foley, ELTC  

Sessions

Sorry, there are no sessions scheduled for this seminar at the moment. You can express add an expression of interest to your basket and you will be notified when any new sessions become available.

Your Basket
Your Basket is Empty