Thesis Writing: Principles and Practice - ELT6050 (12 week course)

Code: ELT6050, Offered By: Research Study Skills

Please note that this is a twelve-session module, with one two-hour seminar per week.  You should sign up to one time-slot only. To pass the module, you must attend at least 9 sessions and submit the final written task. For example, if you sign up for the Monday morning session, you will be expected to attend at least 9 sessions on  a Monday morning, as well as completing the written tasks.

Description

Do you feel unsure what your final thesis is supposed to look like, or lack confidence in your ability to write up your research in the appropriate academic style?  A surprising number of students at the start of the doctoral research process share your anxieties.  This course is aimed at improving your confidence, extending your knowledge and developing your abilities in a practical way.  

During the course we compare examples of writing from a range of theses, discussing writing techniques, academic expectations and issues of structure and style, covering all sections from the Introduction through to the Conclusion. We also discuss strategies for reading, planning, focusing, drafting and revising.

You will complete a number of short written tasks, each of which will be directly or indirectly useful in helping you to begin writing your thesis and prepare for your first year review.  Detailed individual feedback from your tutor helps you to address any problems you may have with the writing process.

The course is aimed mainly at first year doctoral students from all departments, ideally in their second semester, and is particularly useful for international students, though home students who lack confidence in their writing skills, and second year students who have missed the opportunity to complete the course earlier, are also welcome. 

Wednesday's class dates

Venue: Dainton Building, Room D17h -(except on 29th March, see below for room info)

Wednesday 15th February, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 22nd February, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 1st March, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 8th March, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 15th March, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 22nd March, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 29th March, 2pm-4pm - CHANGE OF ROOM ONLY ON THIS DATE: Dainton Building, Room D17a

Wednesday 26th April, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 3rd May, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 10th May, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 17th May, 2pm-4pm

Wednesday 24th May, 2pm-4pm


Thursday's class dates

Morning

Venue: Dainton Building, Room D17h

Thursday 16th February, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 23rd February, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 2nd March, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 9th March, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 16th March, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 23rd March, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 30th March, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 27th April, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 4th May, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 11th May, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 18th May, 10am - 12pm
Thursday 25th May, 10am - 12pm

Afternoon

Venue: Dainton Building, D17h

Thursday 16th February, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 23rd February, 2pm-4pm

Thursday 2nd March, 2pm-4pm

Thursday 9th March, 2pm-4pm

Thursday 16th March, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 23rd March, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 30th March, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 27th April, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 4th May, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 11th May, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 18th May, 2pm-4pm
Thursday 25th May, 2pm-4pm

Students should be aware that this is NOT an English language support course: a minimum overall average of IELTS 6.5 (with a minimum of 6.0 in Writing) is required.

If you are interested in an English language support course please visit:
http://www.shef.ac.uk/eltc/languagesupport






Other Information

Teaching Methods: Seminars,  Problem Solving/Example Classes

Assessment: Portfolio of Written Work

Staff Contact

Dr Dinah Ward, ELTC  

Sessions

Sorry, there are no sessions scheduled for this seminar at the moment. You can express add an expression of interest to your basket and you will be notified when any new sessions become available.

Your Basket
Your Basket is Empty