Speaking Skills for Research Purposes - ELT6060 (12 week course)

Code: ELT6060, Offered By: Research Study Skills

Please note that this is a twelve-session module, with one two-hour seminar per week.  You should sign up for one time-slot only. To pass the module, you must attend at least 9 sessions and submit the final task.

Description

The course is intended principally for students whose first language is not English.  It
covers the skills involved in the design, preparation and execution of oral presentations of the kind given by research students within their study programmes.  This includes practice in answering questions during and after such presentations.  Other oral skills to be developed during the course are those required in more formal situations, such as the interviewing of subjects, and in less formal situations such as academic discussions with colleagues and Supervisors.

Tuesday's class dates

Venue: ELTC, 78 Hoyle St, Room K01

Tuesday 14th February, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 21st February, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 28th February, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 7th March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 14th March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 21st March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 28th March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 25th April, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 2nd May, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 9th May, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 16th May, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 23rd May, 2pm-4pm


Wednesday's class dates

Venue: Dainton Building, D17h

Wednesday 15th February, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 22nd February, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 1st March, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 8th March, 10am-12pm

Wednesday 15th March, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 22nd March, 10am-12pm

Wednesday 29th March, 10am-12pm

Wednesday 26th April,10am-12pm 

Wednesday 3rd May, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 10th May, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 17th May,10am-12pm
Wednesday 24th May, 10am-12pm


Friday's class dates

Venue: Hicks Building, Lecture Theatre 10

Friday 17th February, 2pm-4pm

Friday 24th February, 2pm-4pm
Friday 3rd March,
2pm-4pm

Friday 10th March, 2pm-4pm
Friday 17th March, 2pm-4pm
Friday 24th March, 2pm-4pm
Friday 31st March, 2pm-4pm

Friday 28th April, 2pm-4pm
Friday 5th May, 2pm-4pm
Friday 12th May, 2pm-4pm
Friday 19th May, 2pm-4pm
Friday 26th May, 2pm-4pm

Students should be aware that this is NOT an English language support course: a minimum overall average of IELTS 6.5 (with a minimum of 6.0 in Writing) is required.

If you are interested in an English language support course please visit:
http://www.shef.ac.uk/eltc/languagesupport





Other Information

Teaching Methods: Seminars, Tutorials, Problem Solving/Example Classes

Assessments: Presentations

Staff Contact

Mr George Turner, ELTC  

Sessions

Sorry, there are no sessions scheduled for this seminar at the moment. You can express add an expression of interest to your basket and you will be notified when any new sessions become available.

Your Basket
Your Basket is Empty