Speaking Skills for Research Purposes - ELT6060 (12 week course)

Code: ELT6060, Offered By: Research Study Skills

Please note that this is a twelve-session module, with one two-hour seminar per week.  You should sign up for one time-slot only. To pass the module, you must attend at least 9 sessions and submit the final task.

Description

The course is intended principally for students whose first language is not English.  It
covers the skills involved in the design, preparation and execution of oral presentations of the kind given by research students within their study programmes.  This includes practice in answering questions during and after such presentations.  Other oral skills to be developed during the course are those required in more formal situations, such as the interviewing of subjects, and in less formal situations such as academic discussions with colleagues and Supervisors.

Tuesday's class dates

Venue: 301 Glossop Road, Room C5

Tuesday 13th February, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 20th February, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 27th February, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 6th March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 13th March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 20th March, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 17th April, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 24th April, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 1st May, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 8th May, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 15th May, 2pm-4pm

Tuesday 22nd May, 2pm-4pm


Wednesday's class dates

Venue: Dainton Building, D17h

Wednesday 14th February, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 21st February, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 28th February, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 7th March, 10am-12pm
Wednesday
14th March, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 21st March, 10am-12pm

Wednesday 18th April, 10am-12pm

Wednesday 25th April,10am-12pm 

Wednesday 2nd May, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 9th May, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 16th May, 10am-12pm
Wednesday 23rd May, 10am-12pm


Friday's class dates

Venue: Hicks Building, Room F35

Friday 16th February, 2pm-4pm
Friday 23rd February, 2pm-4pm
Friday 2nd March,
2pm-4pm
Friday 9th March, 2pm-4pm
Friday 16th March, 2pm-4pm
Friday 23rd March, 2pm-4pm
Friday 20th April, 2pm-4pm
Friday 27th April, 2pm-4pm
Friday 4th May, 2pm-4pm
Friday 11th May, 2pm-4pm
Friday 18th May, 2pm-4pm
Friday 25th May, 2pm-4pm

Students should be aware that this is NOT an English language support course: a minimum overall average of IELTS 6.5 (with a minimum of 6.0 in Writing) is required.

If you are interested in an English language support course please visit:
http://www.shef.ac.uk/eltc/languagesupport





Other Information

Teaching Methods: Seminars, Tutorials, Problem Solving/Example Classes

Assessments: Presentations

Staff Contact

Mr George Turner, ELTC  

Sessions

Tue, Feb 13th 2018, 14:00

Venue: 301 Glossop Road, Room: C5

Tutor: James Foley

18 Places Available
Closing Date: March 3rd, 2018

Wed, Feb 14th 2018, 10:00

Venue: Dainton, Room: D17h

Tutor: Phil Smith

9 Places Available
Closing Date: March 2nd, 2018

Fri, Feb 16th 2018, 14:00

Venue: Hicks, Room: F35

Tutor: George Turner

13 Places Available
Closing Date: March 3rd, 2018

If none of the above sessions are suitable, you can add an expression of interest to your basket and you will be notified when any new sessions become available.

Your Basket
Your Basket is Empty